Very basic event handling question
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: Very basic event handling question

Very basic event handling question

I am very new to C++/CLI. So new in fact, that I don't even know C++. For a project in school, I have to make a basic program where you click on a shape and it creates a shape that you can move around the screen and such.

The basic idea is that there is a class called shapeButton and when you left click on it, it creates an instance of a shape that when left clicked and dragged moves, and when right clicked is deleted. All this is to be done in a form.

I've looked around and I can't find much help. The only real event handling I've done is basically painting stuff to the form. If I want to dynamically create instances, how would I set up those event handlers? Would they be in the individual .h files, or do I somehow have to set them up under the forms event handlers?

Re: Very basic event handling question

That's a pretty tough assignment for someone who is new to C++/CLI and doesn't even have a basis of C++. And I would definitely not call that "very basic". I hope you're at least not entirely new to programming at all.

I managed to implement what you describe but it took me some time. The draggable shape (a pentagram) is a class derived from PictureBox. As an orientation: The class' .h file is 32 lines and the .cpp file is 45 lines. This does not include drawing the actual pentagram which is done in a separate class, but that class isn't really large. The isolation of the drawing code wouldn't actually have been necessary but I already had the pentagram drawing class from earlier experiments and simply reused it.