CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Question CAsyncSocket with Timeout

Hey there,
    I got a project where I should work on, which implemented a Client/Server Application, where the Client is sending a string, and the server is storing it into a file. Searching about more details, I saw that the architecture is mostly taken from this source: http://www.codeproject.com/KB/IP/MFC...82#xx3799782xx
    I have three cpp files, derivated from CWinApp, CDialog and CAsyncSocket, and now I have to add a timeout on the whole thing, which means: when the Client is not sending any data for about two minutes, the connection should shut down and then open again and waiting for the Client to establish the Connection again.
    I am a very C++ newbie, and I am reading articles since two or three days, but I don't get any idea how to implement it for my application. I also found something for CSocket here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/138692 but CAsyncSocket can't use this, because it don't know the functions CancelBlockingCall() and CSocket::OnMessagePending().
    Maybe anybody has a hint for me how I can go on?
    Best regards,
    L.

Question Re: CAsyncSocket with Timeout

Inbetween I thought that I had found something... with SetSockOpt. But it's not working. I think it's to detect if the connection is closed, and then I get a message anyway. So I never see this "Timeout!!!" CString. But how can I detect when the Client has still an open connection, but don't use it?

void CEchoServerDlg::OnAccept()
    {
    CString strIP;
    UINT port;
    BOOL fOptval = TRUE;
    if(m_sListener.Accept(m_sConnected))
    {
    if(m_sConnected.SetSockOpt(SO_KEEPALIVE, &fOptval, sizeof(BOOL)) == FALSE)
    AfxMessageBox(CString("Timeout!!!"));
    else
    {
    m_sConnected.GetSockName(strIP,port);
    m_status="Client Connected,IP :"+ strIP;
    m_sConnected.Send("Connected To Server",strlen("Connected To Server"));
    UpdateData(FALSE);