Show form in C++?
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: Show form in C++?

Question Show form in C++?

Hey, I'm Tyler. I'm new to CodeGuru. I've been programming in Visual Basic .NET for about a year and have decided to start exploring C++. I download VC++ and am trying to use it, but one thing I can't seem to do is show a form. I know this will do it:

Form2 myForm = gcnew Form2;
    myForm->Show();

but it makes multiple instances of the same form. In VB.NET, Form2.Show() makes a single instance of the form and only one Form2 is allowed to be open. If you want to make multiple forms you'd do:

Dim myForm as New Form2
    myForm.Show()

How do I make a single instance of Form2? I used a converter and it told me

Form2::Show();

I tried that and I got an error saying something about an illegal call of a non-static member function. How do I do it??

Re: Show form in C++?

First, this is not C++, but C++/CLI.

Second, I believe it should be
    Code:
    Form2^ myForm = gcnew Form2();
    myForm->Show();
    Third, I'm not sure I understand the instances problem. You have a single instance there (you called gcnew once), but each time you call Show/ShowDialog a new window is created. How exactly would you describe the behavior of this "single instance"?
    Marius Bancila
    Home Page
    My CodeGuru articles

I do not offer technical support via PM or e-mail. Please use vbBulletin codes.

[ redirected ]
    Marius Bancila
    Home Page
    My CodeGuru articles

I do not offer technical support via PM or e-mail. Please use vbBulletin codes.

To clarify, this creates the form instance:

Quote Originally Posted by RadXPictures View Post
    Code:
    Form2 ^myForm = gcnew Form2;
    (The symbol marked red was missing in your original snippet, as already pointed out by cilu.)

And this shows the form:

Code:
    myForm->Show();
    Yes, it's that simple, but the implications this has aren't necessarily.