CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

[RESOLVED] Create a delay in a window form

I have made an application that opens a file reads the content then splits the content into categories depending on their properties. Some of the files are over 1mb in size and with my code they can take some time so I tried adding a progress bar to show progress over time so the user knows its working and not frozen.

Since I am still learning and wanted hands on learning I made two instances of the application. One that uses DLLs and one that has all the information contained within the exe itself. The one w/o DLLs I got to work flawlessly with a progress bar. The issue I am having is the one that calls up the DLL. Since I was unable to think of any ideas to make this work with a progress bar I decided to make it a marquee bar. I need a way to make a pause for the marquee to be able to initiate and for the application to not look frozen as it does now.

Here is the code for the one I am trying to get to work
    Code:
    private void btnExtract_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                // Disable button so its not pressed on accident again
                btnExtract.Enabled = false;

// Clear text box and Display message of extracting items
                lstDisplay.Items.Clear();
                lstDisplay.Items.Add("Extracting items now...");

// Set speed of marquee to show the program is working
                progBar.MarqueeAnimationSpeed = 100;

// Create extraction class
                string filePath = txtDir.Text;
                Extracion path = new Extracion();
                path.Extract(filePath);

// Display operation completed message
                lstDisplay.Items.Add("");
                lstDisplay.Items.Add("Extraction Complete");

// Remove extension from path
                string dirPath = Path.GetFileNameWithoutExtension(txtDir.Text);