CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Exclamation Help With Account Login System

Hello, this is my first post here on the CodeGuru Forums. I am new to programming, and I could really use some help.

Basically, what I'm trying to do is this:

1.) Create a Registration Form for users to create a new account in the system.

2.) Create a Login form for users to enter their username/password that they previously created.

Now, ideally, I would like it to be server - client based, where they can only register if they are connected to the server (via internet), and their username/password data would be stored server-side in a document with the platform: User - Pass (or something along those lines). The client would enter their user/pass in the login form, it would check if the user/pass exists in the server database file, and if it does, grant them access and log them in. If the login is unsuccessful, give them a "Error Logging In" message. And for registration, they would enter their desired user/pass and it would check the server database file to see if it already exists, if it doesn't exist, create the new account, write the data(new user/pass) to the server database file, and give them a "Successful Account Creation" message.

I could really use some help on this, as I'm basically a complete noob. I know how to make the very basic programs, such as a Web Browser, and I'm familiar with the VB6 IDE, but other than that, I'm bare bones.

Thank you very much for your help.

Re: Help With Account Login System

Sounds like you want to create an OPERATING SYSTEM. Microsoft's system is called GINA, and you're welcome to REPLACE it, but not allowed to mess with it.
    David

CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!