cl.exe error with empty console application
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: cl.exe error with empty console application

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16

    cl.exe error with empty console application

    So yesterday everything was fine. Today i cant compile (C++) dlls and empty console projects

    The error is following:
    error MSB6006: "CL.exe" exited with code -1073741701. C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Platforms\Win32\Microsoft.Cpp.Win32.Targets

    Empty without precompiled headers(PH):


    With PH:
    http://screensnapr.com/e/eU9rDU.jpg

    Google is helpless here same as msdn and "devenv /resetuserdata". How can i fix this issue?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,640

    Re: cl.exe error with empty console application

    -1073741701 = 0xC000007B = STATUS_INVALID_IMAGE_FORMAT
    Got a virus or a corrupt file system?
    Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place.
    Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by
    definition, not smart enough to debug it.
    - Brian W. Kernighan

    To enhance your chance's of getting an answer be sure to read
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/announ...nouncementid=6
    and http://www.codeguru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=366302 before posting

    Refresh your memory on formatting tags here
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/misc.php?do=bbcode

    Get your free MS compiler here
    http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/eng/downloads

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: cl.exe error with empty console application

    Actually impossible ;D
    I may install 2-3 addins and remove vmware debugger services from the startup. But corrupted file system(im wondering what you mean) or virus - no unusual activity registered, sir ;D Im actually planning to reinstall vc2010 as a last resort. But the question is why cl.exe is failing while other projects like .net are working without problems?

    I think that none solved this problem before(lack of any signs of support) and they simply reinstalled their IDE. If its gonna work i ll try to reproduce this error
    Last edited by qwqwqw12; November 4th, 2011 at 02:47 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    4,640

    Re: cl.exe error with empty console application

    A corrupted file system could have occurred for any number of reasons, and could have only affected specific files... Not impossible.

    Viggy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: cl.exe error with empty console application

    So whats the solution beside reinstallation?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,640

    Re: cl.exe error with empty console application

    Reinstall might work if the corruption came out of the blue. The question is though if the disk is on the edge and soon to break down? Try a reinstall and if that works only for a time I would expect either an upcoming disk breakdown or a virus. Are there any other files that are corrupted?
    Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place.
    Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by
    definition, not smart enough to debug it.
    - Brian W. Kernighan

    To enhance your chance's of getting an answer be sure to read
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/announ...nouncementid=6
    and http://www.codeguru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=366302 before posting

    Refresh your memory on formatting tags here
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/misc.php?do=bbcode

    Get your free MS compiler here
    http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/eng/downloads

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: cl.exe error with empty console application

    Its like 6 months since i bought it is sad. I dont have AV but im aware of dangers out there. Im monitoring netstat and winpatrol isnt neutral either. And the other corrupted files? i have no idea It's just this one right now. Maintenance mode in progress. Its actually reinstalling everything.



    Edit:
    Boom its working now
    Last edited by qwqwqw12; November 4th, 2011 at 05:36 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,640

    Re: cl.exe error with empty console application

    Netstat doesn't show anything if you've got a rootkit virus. Anyway it's like the say in Hill street blues: Be careful out there...
    Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place.
    Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by
    definition, not smart enough to debug it.
    - Brian W. Kernighan

    To enhance your chance's of getting an answer be sure to read
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/announ...nouncementid=6
    and http://www.codeguru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=366302 before posting

    Refresh your memory on formatting tags here
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/misc.php?do=bbcode

    Get your free MS compiler here
    http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/eng/downloads

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center