Thread prefix
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Thread prefix

  1. #1
    PeejAvery's Avatar
    PeejAvery is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    10,867

    Thread prefix

    In the Ubuntu forums, they have thread prefixes. Any chance we could have those here in CodeGuru forums?

    They would come in especially handy in the scripting forums. It would be great to have people select PHP, PERL, ASP.NET, Python, BASH, etc. to go with the title.
    If the post was helpful...Rate it! Remember to use [code] or [php] tags.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    171

    Re: Thread prefix

    Let me ask Joe Palermo and I'll see what can be done.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    399

    Re: Thread prefix

    Yeah, we can do that.
    Online Community Manager

  4. #4
    PeejAvery's Avatar
    PeejAvery is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    10,867

    Re: Thread prefix

    Sweet. Any chance of knowing if this going into a "to do" queue? Or will this be a quick addition?
    If the post was helpful...Rate it! Remember to use [code] or [php] tags.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    399

    Re: Thread prefix

    I figure I can get this done about 9:30 AM this morning.
    Online Community Manager

  6. #6
    PeejAvery's Avatar
    PeejAvery is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    10,867

    Re: Thread prefix

    Impressive!
    If the post was helpful...Rate it! Remember to use [code] or [php] tags.

  7. #7
    PeejAvery's Avatar
    PeejAvery is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    10,867

    Re: Thread prefix

    Sorry to be such a hassle...could the categories be the following? I forgot that we have dedicated ASP.NET and Python forums already.

    • PHP
    • Perl
    • ASP (Classic)
    • BASH
    • Other


    EDIT: And is it required? If not, can it be?
    If the post was helpful...Rate it! Remember to use [code] or [php] tags.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,583

    Re: Thread prefix

    I just did a forum search (advanced search) a few hours ago and noticed that there is a new thread prefix option. Amazing how quick that change was implemented!
    I was thrown out of college for cheating on the metaphysics exam; I looked into the soul of the boy sitting next to me.

    This is a snakeskin jacket! And for me it's a symbol of my individuality, and my belief... in personal freedom.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    399

    Re: Thread prefix

    I rock. Just ask me
    Online Community Manager

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    14,360

    Re: Thread prefix

    Quite cool, I have to admit, especially that the prefixes are per sub-forum. Maybe it will make sense to add prefixes to other forums. We'll have to think about it.
    Marius Bancila
    Home Page
    My CodeGuru articles

    I do not offer technical support via PM or e-mail. Please use vbBulletin codes.

  11. #11
    PeejAvery's Avatar
    PeejAvery is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    10,867

    Re: Thread prefix

    Client-side forum options, maybe?

    • JavaScript
    • X/HTML or CSS
    • XML
    • VBScript
    • ActionScript
    • Other
    If the post was helpful...Rate it! Remember to use [code] or [php] tags.

  12. #12
    PeejAvery's Avatar
    PeejAvery is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    10,867

    Re: Thread prefix

    Sorry to bump this thread...but, can you please implement this for the client-side as well?

    Can you please make them required in both client-side and server-side? I've noticed that a good number don't even bother. It then defeats the purpose of having it.
    If the post was helpful...Rate it! Remember to use [code] or [php] tags.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    6,422

    Re: Thread prefix

    I added the client-side prefixes. Take a look. I'm not sure about making them required.....

    Brad!
    -----------------------------------------------
    Brad! Jones, CodeGuru.com Site Director
    Developer.com Network Director / EiC

    webmaster@codeguru.com
    (My Latest Book)


    -----------------------------------------------

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    6,422

    Re: Thread prefix

    (( As we know - if people use them, then they increase the likelihood of getting an answer.... )))

  15. #15
    PeejAvery's Avatar
    PeejAvery is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    10,867

    Re: Thread prefix

    Perfect. Thanks a lot!

    I've just noticed that people in the server-side forum haven't really been using them. If they were required, then threads would be better organized.

    EDIT: Oh...and can you add Other to the server-side options?
    Last edited by PeejAvery; March 16th, 2011 at 02:20 PM.
    If the post was helpful...Rate it! Remember to use [code] or [php] tags.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center