CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

Compare Date and show the difference

I have a file, 'date-list.txt' which has date in it. For example , 20 May 2012 .

Now I want to compare this date with current system date and show the difference in days .

How can i compare dates and shows difference in days in C++.?

Im really a c++ beginner . So , if possible , please show and guide me with codes . Thanks in advanced .

Re: Compare Date and show the difference

When I approach a situation like this, I start thinking through a lot of the details before trying to get the code written. (Sorry there's no code.)

There are many things to consider.

We need to know a bit more about how 'date-list.txt' will be formatted.
    1) Is it only going to have one date, or many dates? If many, will they only be listed one per line?
    2) Is it only going to use that format, or could your program be given a different formatted date such as "05/20/2012"?
    3) May is a tough example, because months are often abbreviated as three characters, but May starts out as only three characters. If your program is to be given September, will it be given "Sep" or "September"?

Do we need our program to be flexible, or rigid?
    1) If 'date-list.txt' will have many dates, one listed per line, do we want to be prepared to see a blank line with no date on it?
    2) Do we want to be prepared to see unexpected date formats as mentioned above, or just give an error? Even if 'date-list.txt' should only be using months as three character abbreviations or their full name, do we want to be prepared to take either?

Are we to assume the date in 'date-list.txt' is in the same time zone as the current system's time? (Pretty much have to, just pointing this out.)