CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

how to parse a text box to an integer - but....

If you have a form, with multiple text boxes. R1_fred, R2_fred, R3_fred -- and would like to parse what is in that text box into an integer, you could use:

Code:
    risk = int.Parse(R1_fred.Text);

However, I'd like to replace "R1_" with "R2_" or "R3_". Unfortunately, I cannot do the following:

Code:
    string rowNumber = "R1_"

string temp1 = "fred.Text";
    string temp2 = temp1.Insert (0, rowNumber);
    risk = int.Parse(temp2);
    and expect it to work. What code could I use to effectively do the same thing?

Please be gentle, I am somewhat new to C#.

Thanks!

p.s. using .net 4.

Re: how to parse a text box to an integer - but....

Hello! Your solution of trying to store the variable name in a string made me smile. That seems like a very Bash (linux command line) way of thinking. Clever! But, not correct unfortunately!

Anyway, you can use an array:

Code:
    TextBox[] textArray = new TextArray[] { R1_fred, R2_fred, R3_fred };
    int risk = int.Parse(textArray[1].Text); //Will parse the value in R2_fred (at index 1 of the array; arrays always count from zero).
    Or, better, a List<T>:

Code:
    List<TextBox> textArray = new List<TextBox>() { R1_fred, R2_fred, R3_fred };
    int risk = int.Parse(textArray[1].Text); //Will parse the value in R2_fred (at index 1 of the array; arrays always count from zero).
    The list code uses generics, which are very important. You should learn about them, if you haven't already: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.80%29.aspx

Also, when parsing input from users, it's best to expect errors. The TryParse method allows for this. You call it like this:

Code:
    int risk; //Declare a variable to store the value
    if( !Int32.TryParse(textBox.Text, out risk) )
    {
        //Error handling here
    }