CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

noob Dev-C++ help. Need to calc area & perimeter of a rectangle (class proj).

I apologize for the stupid questions, but I have to have this submitted tonight and this is my first time and I'm over my head with this deadline looming tonight. I appreciate any and all help anyone could provide. I am using Dev-C++

Here is the assignment: Write a program that prompts the user to input the length of a rectangle and the width of a rectangle and then displays the rectangle's area and perimeter.
    The program should be broken down in 3 parts:
    1. Input the length and the width (two input statements)
    2. Calculate the area & perimeter (results should be saved in variables
    3. print results.
    Format the output so the user can easily read the results. Use the tab escape so its easy to read.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    So here's what I have so far. I have been stuck for two days

#include iostream
    using namespace std;
    int main ()
    {
    int double length;
    int width;
    int area;
    int perimeter;
    cout << enter the length of a rectangle: ";
    cin >> length;
    cout << enter the width of a rectangle: ";
    cin >> width;

area = length * width;

cout << "The area of the retangle is << area << endl;

perimeter = length * 2 + width * 2;

cout << "The perimeter of the rectangle is << perimeter << endl;
    ---------------------------------------------------------------

I dont want to get a zero for not turning this in, I'll continue to try to figure this out, but man...all this is greek to me. Hopefully i can absorb some of this, to be able to pass this class.

GCDEF is offline Elite Member Power Poster

Re: noob Dev-C++ help. Need to calc area & perimeter of a rectangle (class proj).

Stuck where? You're almost done. A few simple compile errors you need to fix and it works.