CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

Asynchronous reading

Hey everyone.

I am new to windows programming, in particular Visual C++, as I am a long time web developer.

I am developing a windows forms app in express 2010, and I am struggling to figure out how to do something.

I have a simple form that upon a button click, will go out to the serial port and read the serial port and display it to a text box. It works as coded.

The problem I have is I don't want to have to click the button each time, and would rather have the method just continuously run asynchronously, and update the text box whenever new data comes in.

Right now, if I run a do while loop, it basically freezes up my form as the entire app is waiting for the button click event to finish.

Is there a way for me to call a method asynchronously, and get info back, when it receives new data?

I know in some languages there are things like delegates and async function calls, but I am very new to VC++.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Re: Asynchronous reading

Set up a timer (SetTimer)...it will read the port every so many milliseconds and you can update using that data.
    Last edited by zapper222; February 5th, 2013 at 09:11 AM.

sir, can you tell me how to post a new topic here? i want to ask about what i should do for my Gravitational Search algorithm distance, a way of computing it for solving 0/1 multidimensional knapsack ... please..

Arjay is offline Moderator / EX MS MVP Power Poster

Quote Originally Posted by emidevil View Post
    sir, can you tell me how to post a new topic here? i want to ask about what i should do for my Gravitational Search algorithm distance, a way of computing it for solving 0/1 multidimensional knapsack ... please..