CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

Can I change active directory passwords from VB?

Hello all, new to forum.

I have a question abont lan pwds and VB.
    I work doing customer support in a corporate enviroment.
    I do a lot of password resets with various programs, including LAN pwds on active directory.
    I have permission to change passwords, I am able to change passwords by going to active directory and doing the point, click, reset pwd.
    I am not trying to subvert any permissions or anything.

Through out the coarse of the day, we do alot of passwords. Alot of times users don't know when they last set a domain password, or when it expires. We need to find out if the account is locked or expired, what groups the user has, etc.

I have little to no programming experience, I am ina VB programming class right now for college, yet last year I was able to piece together a program in VB 6 that would allow me to enter the domain user ID, and it would tell me when the password was last set, it would tell me when it expires, it would tell me if the account is locked out. It would also tell me what groups they were part of, it was displayed in a list of lots of information that I have to scroll through.
    This program alone makes life easier, its faster to get information needed, before going through active directory.
    It makes use of DOS command Net User, basically runs the dos command and dumps the results into a VB textbox.

HEre is the kicker. Using the same dos command, Net User you can reset a password, HOWEVER. the security blocks the NET USER password command.
    Again, I am not trying to circumvent any permissions or security, as I have access to reset pwds via GUI. I just want to write a program that will do it faster and easier, all from 1 window.