CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

C# How can i randomly assign numbers to an array?

Hello! I am new to c# so this may be a basic question, i am also new to this forum so hello all!

I am in progress of planning a "deal or no deal" game with c#.

I currently have this code:

int[] array;
    array = new int [3];

array[0] = 1;
    array[1] = 7;
    array[2] = 9;

Random random = new Random();
    int number = random.Next(array.Length);
    System.Console.WriteLine(array[number]);
    Console.ReadKey();

This just randomly prints out a value 1, 7 or 9 if the array value is 0, 1 will always be printed out to the screen.

I want it so when the game starts up the numbers would be randomly assigned so when the game starts up one game the 0 value in the array could be 1 7 or 9.

Obviously with deal or no deal there will be 20+ value boxes there for i would need to randomly assign 20+ assigned numbers to random boxs

Sorry if i havent been clear, if you need clarification please leave a comment

Re: C# How can i randomly assign numbers to an array?

Shuffling is surprisingly easy to screw up! See this post for the details: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/200...f-naivete.html

The best advice is to just use the Fisher-Yates shuffling algorithm (which is very easy to implement) after you declare the possible values in the array (i.e. after your array[2] declaration); read about it here: http://www.dotnetperls.com/fisher-yates-shuffle

Also, you can simplify your array declaration:
    Code:
    int[] array;
    array = new int [3];

array[0] = 1;
    array[1] = 7;
    array[2] = 9;
    Can be written more compactly as:

Code:
    int[] array = new int[] { 1, 7, 9 };
    Best Regards,

BioPhysEngr
    http://blog.biophysengr.net
    --
    All advice is offered in good faith only. You are ultimately responsible for effects of your programs and the integrity of the machines they run on.