CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

Question I need advice on how to convert MFC dependent source to non-MFC

Hello to anyone who reads this!

IDE = Visual Studio 2008 Express

I am a novice programmer(still...) , and I am trying to build the Code Project project located at this address:
    http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/...t=4330960&fr=1

The project page is titled " Remote Control PCs ".

I would like to use this program plus I wanted to practice programming using the code base. However, I don't have MFC so I thought I would just convert it to non-MFC.

=========What I Need Help With==============

----First Issue-

I don't fully know what needs to be done or how to go about doing it. So I was wondering if someone could browse through the code(the source is relatively small) and give me some advice on what all needs to be changed.

And I was also wanting some advice on perhaps how to make these changes.

For example, It seems to me that any class inherited from MFC would need to be reimplemented. I think I also need to reimplement any code that uses "stdafx.h"

I don't fully know how to do the above so if someone could give some pointers that would really help(I think).

----Second Issue-

In the second paragraph Andy Blantly wrote that

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Blantly-Code Project
    I built a custom project out of the zlib library and compiled it as a Windows library with the /MT settings. Both 32 and 64 bit library files, in Release and Debug mode, are included. The ZLIB.H and ZCONF.H files are also included. For examples of single-threaded usage, see the CZLib class. For examples of multi-threaded usage, see the classes CDriveMultiThreadedCompression, CMultiThreadedCompression, and CZLib.

1)How should I go about compiling this zlib custom project?
    2)Where does the /MT option go ?
    3)How do I use the output ( zlib.lib - I guess)?

===============================