[RESOLVED] Install Visual Studio 2012 with Visual Studio 2010
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [RESOLVED] Install Visual Studio 2012 with Visual Studio 2010

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,449

    [RESOLVED] Install Visual Studio 2012 with Visual Studio 2010

    I'm using Visual Studio 2010 professional on Windows 7 x64 Ultimate. All fully patched. Can I install Visual Studio 2012 professional ALONGSIDE Visual Studio 2010 so that both can be used? If yes, are there any 'gotchas' or issues/problems of which I should be aware before the installation?

    Thanks in advance for any info.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Posts
    27,429

    Re: Install Visual Studio 2012 with Visual Studio 2010

    Quote Originally Posted by 2kaud View Post
    I'm using Visual Studio 2010 professional on Windows 7 x64 Ultimate. All fully patched. Can I install Visual Studio 2012 professional ALONGSIDE Visual Studio 2010 so that both can be used? If yes, are there any 'gotchas' or issues/problems of which I should be aware before the installation?

    Thanks in advance for any info.
    I don't think there should be any problem. I personally don't have VS 2010 and 2012 installed right now, but in the past, I've had VC6, VS 2003, VS 2005 and VS 2008 all installed on one machine with no issues. The trick is to place them in different directories altogether, i.e. one install knows nothing about the other. Otherwise you will get problems with header files, libraries, etc. getting mixed up when you build an application.

    Regards,

    Paul McKenzie

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,634

    Re: Install Visual Studio 2012 with Visual Studio 2010

    I have both 2010 and 2012 installed without having any issues. The default installation works as it is, there is no need for a custom install.
    Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place.
    Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by
    definition, not smart enough to debug it.
    - Brian W. Kernighan

    To enhance your chance's of getting an answer be sure to read
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/announ...nouncementid=6
    and http://www.codeguru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=366302 before posting

    Refresh your memory on formatting tags here
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/misc.php?do=bbcode

    Get your free MS compiler here
    http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/eng/downloads

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,449

    Re: Install Visual Studio 2012 with Visual Studio 2010

    Paul,

    Thanks for the advice. I took a complete system image backup and then took the plunge and installed VS2012. It seems to work fine alongside VS2010. By default, everything is installed in folders based upon release versions - silverlight, SDKs, VS etc - so there seems to be no conflict. Both versions are happy to be open at the same time and to compile at the same time.

    Not sure I like the new washed-out look and the CAPITAL MENUS though!

  5. #5
    Arjay's Avatar
    Arjay is offline Moderator / MS MVP Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    11,307

    Re: Install Visual Studio 2012 with Visual Studio 2010

    They'll work along side each other. There are themes available to offer more color choices and get rid of the CAPITAL menus. See bing or google (or nuget).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center