CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Passing data through a void function

Hey, first time posting here. I am new to C++ (day 2 since I started learning it) so bear with me.

Ok so my question is if I were to pass some data or values from the main() function through a void function (which main purpose is to display the data in a certain manner); how should one go about doing so?

For instance:

Code:
    // example.cpp -- poorly written, just trying to learn
    #include <iostream>

void format()
    {
           using namespace std;
           cout << "Time: " << min << hrs << endl;
    };

int main()
    {
          using namespace std;
          int hrs;
          cin hrs;
          cin min;
          format();   // call the void format to display them in a certain way
          return 0;
    }
    Obviously this is really poorly written, and confusing for the user. My main goal is to learn how to pass through values to a void function.

Also a bit off-topic, but is there a downside to place "using namespace std;" outside a function say if out of 100 functions only 10 of them use it? Would it make the program slower/unstable in any way or is this something one could do without any downsides?

Please excuse my English if it is hard to understand - it's not my mother tongue.

- Heew

2kaud is offline Super Moderator Power Poster

Re: Passing data through a void function

My main goal is to learn how to pass through values to a void function.
    This should help you understand how its done

http://www.learncpp.com/cpp-tutorial...-at-functions/

Code:
    cin >> hrs;
    cin >> min;
    Also for cin you need the >> operator

If you didn't have 'using namespace std;' in your code then the program would look like (which compiles and runs!)

Code:
    #include <iostream>

int hrs,
         min;

void format()
    {
           std::cout << "Time: " << min << hrs << std::endl;
    };

int main()
    {
          std::cin >> hrs;