CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

DoModal is not a Member?

Hello,
    I'm just learning this, and I am working through these tutorials:
    http://www.codersource.net/MFC/MFCTu...oxesinMFC.aspx

I haven't had to modify them much for VS2010 so far. Right now, (I think) I have created the dialog box, and the menu as a class and a resource, respectively. However, when I call
    Code:
    void MFC_Tutorial_Window::OnClickDialogNew()
    {
        NewDialog dlg;
        dlg.DoModal();
    }
    I get an error 'DoModal' : is not a member of 'NewDialog'
    I suppose somehow I need to link the menu to the dialog box?

I believe I've added the references, included the libraries and essentially followed the instructions. Apparently I'm not very clear on how to make resources interact with new classes. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
    Thanks very much!

Arjay is offline Moderator / EX MS MVP Power Poster

Re: DoModal is not a Member?

Did you do step 7?
    Step 7:
    Now click on Menu --> View --> Class Wizard or press Ctrl + W. You will be presented with a dialog asking you, if you want to create a new class. Say Yes. The wizard will create a new dialog class and related files( Newdialog.h & newdialog.cpp) for you.

Arjay and GCDEF:
    The instructions for adding the new class "NewDialog" didn't quite match with my version. I did create a new class (Project -> Class Wizard -> Add Class). I left the base class "CWnd" - should it perhaps be CFrameWnd? Would this make the class/function available? (I guess #include isn't sufficient.)

Paul and GCDEF: