CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

Do other things whilst in a loop

Hi, newbie here, still very much learning.

I'm writing a piece of software in MFC. In one function, I have a while loop using "KeepLooping" as the condition.

"KeepLooping" is a boolean that is set to false by a toolbar button, key press or menu option. The problem is, when the loop starts running, its obviously so busy in the loop that button presses, toolbar buttons and menu clicks do nothing, so the loop never exits.

What's the best (or should that be simplest?) way around this? I remember in VB you could rather crudely just use DoEvents in a loop to make sure it carried on doing other things in the mean time, but I'm guessing its not that simple in C++.

Thanks guys, Matt.

Re: Do other things whilst in a loop

Quote Originally Posted by nnXen View Post
    What's the best (or should that be simplest?) way around this?
    The best way around it is simply not to use "busy waiting".

All modern GUIs (and even OSes) are based on the principle of "don't call us, we call you". That is event handling objects register themselves as subscribers to the events they're interested in and then passively just hang around. Then when an even happens all its subscribers (also called listeners) get called in turn. It's considered good manners to finish as quickly and swiftly as possible not to block fellow listeners.

Read the MFC documentation and study examples to see how the event handling mechanism works.
    Last edited by nuzzle; March 26th, 2013 at 04:23 AM.

I remember in VB you could rather crudely just use DoEvents in a loop to make sure it carried on doing other things in the mean time, but I'm guessing its not that simple in C++.