plotting data in mschart
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: plotting data in mschart

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    7

    plotting data in mschart

    Hi Everyone,

    Please help me how to get the perfect straight line in mschart.also to get the R2 of the the slope and y-intercept.here is my code.
    here is the number to input to test the code:

    conc1(0)=0
    conc1(1)=1
    conc1(2)=5
    conc1(3)=10
    conc1(4)=20

    abs1(0)=0.0011
    abs1(1)=0.0226
    abs1(2)=0.1320
    abs1(3)=0.2531
    abs1(4)=0.0000

    here's my code:


    Private Sub ABS1_KeyPress(Index As Integer, KeyAscii As Integer)
    Dim s0, s1, s2, t0, t1 As Double
    s0 = 0
    s1 = 0
    s2 = 0
    t0 = 0
    t1 = 0

    Select Case Index
    Case 0:

    If KeyAscii = 13 Then
    ABS1(1).SetFocus
    End If
    Case 1:
    If KeyAscii = 13 Then
    ABS1(2).SetFocus
    End If
    Case 2:
    If KeyAscii = 13 Then
    ABS1(3).SetFocus
    End If
    Case 3:
    If KeyAscii = 13 Then
    ABS1(4).SetFocus
    End If
    Case 4:
    If KeyAscii = 13 Then
    'How to get the data for the slope/y intercept computation
    For X = 0 To 4
    s0 = s0 + 1
    s1 = s1 + CONC2(X)
    s2 = s2 + (CONC2(X) * CONC2(X))
    t0 = t0 + ABS2(X)
    t1 = t1 + (CONC2(X) * ABS2(X))
    ''Plot Graph

    Next
    AnalyzerInc ' call graph
    SlopeOrig = Format((s0 * t1 - s1 * t0) / (s0 * s2 - s1 * s1), "0.#000") 'slope formula M
    YinterceptOrig = Format((s2 * t0 - s1 * t1) / (s0 * s2 - s1 * s1), "0.#000") 'Yintercept formula B
    SlopeCorrected = Format((s0 * t1 - s1 * t0) / (s0 * s2 - s1 * s1), "0.#000")
    Ycorrected = Format((s2 * t0 - s1 * t1) / (s0 * s2 - s1 * s1), "0.#000")
    'Regression Formula y = Mx + b
    RsquareOrig = Format((SlopeOrig * s0) + YinterceptOrig, "0.#000")
    RsquareCorrected = Format((SlopeCorrected * s0) + Ycorrected, "0.#000")
    End If
    End Select
    Graph(0, 2) = ABS2(0)
    Graph(1, 2) = ABS2(1)
    Graph(2, 2) = ABS2(2)
    Graph(3, 2) = ABS2(3)
    Graph(4, 2) = ABS2(4)
    MSChart1.ChartData = Graph
    MSChart2.ChartData = Graph

    For Y = 1 To 5
    MSChart1.Row = Y
    MSChart1.RowLabel = CONC2(Y - 1)
    MSChart2.Row = Y
    MSChart2.RowLabel = CONC2(Y - 1)

    Next
    'i got this slope and y intercept to the member of this forum also. thanks to him but i cant understand his R2 formulw(y=mx-b) i dont know where to get the x value.

    Please help me to get the prefect line after removing the abs3(4)(abs3 is where the computation displayed)also how to get the regression or R2. Thanks

    Note: I use line in chart..cause when i used the xy scattered the negative value did'nt plot on the last column instead it plot on the first row negative value.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    14,981

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    Change this line first:

    Code:
    Dim s0, s1, s2, t0, t1 As Double
    As you are declaring only t1 as a Double, not them all!

    Code:
    Dim s0 As Double, s1 As Double, s2 As Double, t0 As Double, t1 As Double
    And then try running it again!
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    Hi dglliena

    I already change and nothing happen to my Regression result.(y=Mx-B) in my input which is x on that? Also my plot in graph is not straight from base on my screen shot.(pls. see attached file) Hope you can help me on this problem. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    14,981

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    I don't even see the values that you calculated for regression, etc...
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    Here is the code to get the Slope/Y intercept and Regrssion
    and my inputs is on the first table in my screenshot
    For X = 0 To 4
    s0 = s0 + 1
    s1 = s1 + CONC2(X)
    s2 = s2 + (CONC2(X) * CONC2(X))
    t0 = t0 + ABS2(X)
    t1 = t1 + (CONC2(X) * ABS2(X))
    ''Plot Graph

    Next

    SlopeOrig = Format((s0 * t1 - s1 * t0) / (s0 * s2 - s1 * s1), "0.#000") 'slope formula M
    YinterceptOrig = Format((s2 * t0 - s1 * t1) / (s0 * s2 - s1 * s1), "0.#000") 'Yintercept formula B
    SlopeCorrected = Format((s0 * t1 - s1 * t0) / (s0 * s2 - s1 * s1), "0.#000")
    Ycorrected = Format((s2 * t0 - s1 * t1) / (s0 * s2 - s1 * s1), "0.#000")

    'Regression Formula y = Mx + b
    RsquareCorrected = Format((SlopeCorrected ) + Ycorrected, "0.#000") ''''Regression computation

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    14,981

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    Try it in Excel to see what happens.
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    I already try that before in excel on how to have a straight line if your input the ff.data.in excel it used a xy scatter graph to have a straight line but my problem in VB is if i used xy scatter the last input would be plot under the first input unlike if i used line graph u will see the line of last input.did you get me?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    14,981

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    Might be a resolution problem with the monitor, or else, VB6 can't do WPF properly, since it wasn't INVENTED yet
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    i see.how about the regression?how to get the regression base on my inputs?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    14,981

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    Looks like

    Code:
    SlopeCorrected 
    
    Ycorrected
    might be the problem...
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: plotting data in mschart

    The formula on that has a correct result of what we expect only the regression is not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center