VB6 Console Mode
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: VB6 Console Mode

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2

    VB6 Console Mode

    Hi There

    I'm using Visual Basic 6 for a Computing exam I have this summer and part of the exam is to write a program from a description that they give you with VB6 in 'console mode'. Unfortunately I'm not sure how to get VB6 into 'console mode' to enable me to code so that it basically looks like any other console programming language e.g. pascal. I've googled it and haven't found anything and so any help would be much appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    14,958

    Re: VB6 Console Mode

    You can start a VB6 app from the command line, but not write one. You can open a command window and execute VBA scripting, but not both.
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,074

    Re: VB6 Console Mode

    I didn't tested... but you could give it a try
    http://www.nirsoft.net/vb/console_application_visual_basic.html
    JG


    ... If your problem is fixed don't forget to mark your threads as resolved using the Thread Tools menu ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2

    Re: VB6 Console Mode

    Thanks for the advice guys
    @dglienna thanks I'll tell my teacher and see what he says.
    @jggtz thanks for the link. I tried it although I couldn't get it to work right. Thanks anyway though!

  5. #5
    DataMiser is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    4,813

    Re: VB6 Console Mode

    Sounds like an odd requirement for a class on VB6. VB.Net on the other hand has an option to create console mode apps and is commonly done in many samples and exercises.
    Always use [code][/code] tags when posting code.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center