CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Smile how to assign ' const char* ' return value of a function to 'label' in windows form

i am a newbie to C++ and VS ++. I have created a windows form application by dragging and dropping button, label..etc. i wish label text to be appeared as return value from a function. The function returns ' const char* '.how this returned string pointer can be used to display label text.?

Thanks in advance..

Re: how to assign ' const char* ' return value of a function to 'label' in windows f

Code:
    label->Text = Marshal::PtrToStringAnsi(IntPtr(Function()));
    Last edited by Alex F; September 30th, 2013 at 07:28 AM.

Re: how to assign ' const char* ' return value of a function to 'label' in windows f

Even though this gave an error for the first time, that worked when i used "using namespace System::Runtime::InteropServices;" Thanks. Now,I am facing one more problem. I cant access a global variable from Form1.h. My main file is test01.cpp. 'AP_HANDLE apbase' is a variable which is part of an sdk. i can access this 'apbase' from main() but cant from form.h. I tried to use this code inside InitializeComponent(void). pls see the code. usage was - this->label1->Text=Marshal::PtrToStringAnsi(IntPtr(ap_GetPartNumber(apbase)));

//test01.cpp
    // test01.cpp : main project file.

#include "stdafx.h"
    #include "apbase.h"
    #include "Form1.h"

using namespace test01;

AP apbase;

[STAThreadAttribute]
    int main(array<System::String ^> ^args)
    {

// Enabling Windows XP visual effects before any controls are created
    Application::EnableVisualStyles();
    Application::SetCompatibleTextRenderingDefault(false);

// Create the main window and run it
    Application::Run(gcnew Form1());
    return 0;
    }

//FORM1.h
    #pragma once

namespace test01 {

using namespace System;
    using namespace System::ComponentModel;
    using namespace System::Collections;