Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post - Page 2
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 35

Thread: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,262

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Over here, IE8, IE11 and Firefox 27 are still working OK - with a different set of ads than when the problem occurred (if that's the cause of the issue?).
    All advice is offered in good faith only. You are ultimately responsible for effects of your programs and the integrity of the machines they run on.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,262

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    The offending ad is 'Clipstream'. Everytime this ad shows, I get the edit problem.
    All advice is offered in good faith only. You are ultimately responsible for effects of your programs and the integrity of the machines they run on.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    129

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    I reported what you wrote.. Please try to grab a screen shot if you see the ad again.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,583

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    I can confirm that the Quick Reply text box as well as related buttons (at least sometimes) are missing when the Clipstream ad is displayed on the page; using Dolphin Browser 10.2.7 on Android.

    Will see if I can take a screen shot of the ad when I'm back at the Windows box.
    I was thrown out of college for cheating on the metaphysics exam; I looked into the soul of the boy sitting next to me.

    This is a snakeskin jacket! And for me it's a symbol of my individuality, and my belief... in personal freedom.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    129

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Often times the ads are regional. Since both of you guys are on the same side of the big blue pond - would probably explain why I haven't seen the ad.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,262

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Will someone PLEASE block that $%^&* clipstream ad from appearing - or fix the forums so that it doesn't mess up editing!!!!!
    All advice is offered in good faith only. You are ultimately responsible for effects of your programs and the integrity of the machines they run on.

  7. #22
    Arjay's Avatar
    Arjay is offline Moderator / MS MVP Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    11,197

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    I don't know if it's the ad, but yesterday I had the "can't type more than one line" issue again.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    129

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    I just saw the Clipstream ad here and didn't have the Reply Box issue.... I'm using Chrome.

    Plus I've seen the ad on some sister sites and didn't have any problems... Nor has anyone else reported a similar issue.

    Does hitting the F5 key help with the quick reply box is grayed out?

    Does it only happen when you're using your Droid device?

  9. #24
    Arjay's Avatar
    Arjay is offline Moderator / MS MVP Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    11,197

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    Does it only happen when you're using your Droid device?
    This isn't on my droid device. It's happening in IE10.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,262

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    I just saw the Clipstream ad here and didn't have the Reply Box issue.... I'm using Chrome.

    Plus I've seen the ad on some sister sites and didn't have any problems... Nor has anyone else reported a similar issue.

    Does hitting the F5 key help with the quick reply box is grayed out?

    Does it only happen when you're using your Droid device?
    Happens on Windows XP/Vista/7/8.1 using Firefox (v12 upwards) and IE10 and IE11. Hitting F5 restores the edit box. Don't use Chrome so can't comment.
    All advice is offered in good faith only. You are ultimately responsible for effects of your programs and the integrity of the machines they run on.

  11. #26
    Arjay's Avatar
    Arjay is offline Moderator / MS MVP Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    11,197

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Quote Originally Posted by Arjay View Post
    This isn't on my droid device. It's happening in IE10.
    I have found that if I set the page to run in "compatibility mode" I get the multiline edits. Unfortunately, the rest of the site doesn't render well. I know that sometimes WebSite folks can get a bit uppity about getting things to work on IE (always blaming IE and recommend to run FF or Chrome), but I need to be using IE. Can someone please repro this issue and get a fix? Thanks.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    6,421

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Raised this to Techs again.
    -----------------------------------------------
    Brad! Jones, CodeGuru.com Site Director
    Developer.com Network Director / EiC

    webmaster@codeguru.com
    (My Latest Book)


    -----------------------------------------------

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    6,421

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Arjay -

    It is being suggested to me that you avoid the WYSIWYG editor. There are compatibility issues with it and some browsers. Can I assume your issues go beyond just using that editor page?
    -----------------------------------------------
    Brad! Jones, CodeGuru.com Site Director
    Developer.com Network Director / EiC

    webmaster@codeguru.com
    (My Latest Book)


    -----------------------------------------------

  14. #29
    Arjay's Avatar
    Arjay is offline Moderator / MS MVP Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    11,197

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    Quote Originally Posted by Brad Jones View Post
    Arjay -

    It is being suggested to me that you avoid the WYSIWYG editor. There are compatibility issues with it and some browsers. Can I assume your issues go beyond just using that editor page?
    Okay. I switched back to the enhanced editor - it seems fine now. Too bad the WYSIWYG editor can't support the browser that comes with Windows - you know, the operating system I make my living on.

    Thanks, Brad!

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    6,421

    Re: Issue with using the fourms - cannot edit or post

    It's a vBulletin thing, not a Codeguru or QuinStreet thing. I'm with you on it being a shame that modern versions of IE aren't fully compatible.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center