VB6 SP6 Programming Environment
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: VB6 SP6 Programming Environment

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    VB6 SP6 Programming Environment

    3 Days ago noticed odd behavior in my VB6SP6 development environment. When I When I call the components menu from the projects menu the controls list is empty on new projects and on existing projects only controls used in the project are show. Both the Designers and insertable objects tabs when clicked say I do not have permission to use object. I am the only user on the PC with full permissions and rights. I have also reinstalled VB6SP6 with no luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    DataMiser is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    4,860

    Re: VB6 SP6 Programming Environment

    hmm, can't say I have saw this before.

    Are you by chance running it under windows Vista or later?
    If so are you using the run as admin option when starting the IDE?
    Always use [code][/code] tags when posting code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    Re: VB6 SP6 Programming Environment

    It was my thought too that somehow permissions an a file were modified. I am on XP SP3. Do you happen to know what dll is called for those functions.

  4. #4
    DataMiser is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    4,860

    Re: VB6 SP6 Programming Environment

    Nope, I have been using Vb6 under XP for over 10 years now and never had an issue

    Didi you install the SP6 rollup ? That one is known to have some problems, I have not installed it here just VB6 SP6 under XP Pro SP3, works fine all the time
    Always use [code][/code] tags when posting code.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    Re: VB6 SP6 Programming Environment

    It's not the roll up, I've been VB6ing since it's release. This is the first time I've ever had a issue as well, any idea where I could get info on what OCX or DLL might be the culprit.

  6. #6
    DataMiser is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    4,860

    Re: VB6 SP6 Programming Environment

    I do not think there is any single OCX or dll these I think are read from the system registry.

    Probably a dumb question but have you checked to make sure that you do not have a check mark in that little box on the components page

    You know the one for showing only what is selected, kinda sounds like it is checked from your description in the OP at least on the components part. The other part is just odd, never saw that before.

    I suppose could be some registry issue(s) or possibly corrupted file(s), Virus?
    Always use [code][/code] tags when posting code.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    Re: VB6 SP6 Programming Environment

    I indeed have the box unchecked, and I agree i think it is a registry issue. I'm going to start to shift my search in that direction. Thaks for your help.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center