CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Two date structures "sharing" the same date

Hi

I'm a new C++ programmer (although I've done BV et al for years) so I may be missing something obvious here, but what is wrong with this?

I have two date/time structures which I'm populating, but when I populate the second one it sets the same values in the first.

This is what I've got so far

tm *FirstDate = gmtime(&now);
    tm *SecondDate = gmtime(&now);

cout <<"Enter your first date in the format dd/mm/yyyy" << endl <<">";
    getline (cin,tempstring);

FirstDate->tm_mday = atoi(tempstring.substr(0,2).c_str());
    FirstDate->tm_mon = atoi(tempstring.substr(3,2).c_str());
    FirstDate->tm_year = atoi(tempstring.substr(6,4).c_str());

// this is correct...
    cout<<" your first entered " <<FirstDate->tm_mday << "/" <<FirstDate->tm_mon <<"/" <<FirstDate->tm_year <<endl;
    cout <<"Now enter your second date in the format dd/mm/yyyy" << endl <<">";
    getline (cin,tempstring2);

SecondDate->tm_mday = atoi(tempstring2.substr(0,2).c_str());
    SecondDate->tm_mon = atoi(tempstring2.substr(3,2).c_str());
    SecondDate->tm_year = atoi(tempstring2.substr(6,4).c_str());

// at this point they're both the same as the last entry..
    cout<<" your first entered " <<FirstDate->tm_mday << "/" <<FirstDate->tm_mon <<"/" <<FirstDate->tm_year <<endl;
    cout<<" your second entered " <<SecondDate->tm_mday << "/" <<SecondDate->tm_mon <<"/" <<SecondDate->tm_year <<endl;

What have I missed or misunderstood?

Cheers

Sam

2kaud is offline Super Moderator Power Poster

Re: Two date structures "sharing" the same date

When posting code, please format your code and use code tags. Go Advanced, select the code and click '#'.

What have I missed or misunderstood?
    From MSDN http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.60%29.aspx