VTK in MFC VC6
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VTK in MFC VC6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43

    VTK in MFC VC6

    Hi everyone. Does anyone used VTK in MFC ? I am using VC6, but whatever ... I had tried their advices ... nothing worked ... if everyone had used VTK in MFC, can help me ? Thank you.

  2. #2
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is online now Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wallisellen (ZH), Switzerland
    Posts
    17,422

    Re: VTK in MFC VC6

    How did you try?
    What does not work?
    Which (minimal) VS version is required for your installed VTK version?
    Victor Nijegorodov

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43

    Re: VTK in MFC VC6

    Thank you so kind Victor, right now I am trying an project that already had VTK integrated ... but is integrated into VS2008, and I never used VS2008 by now, so I will come back soon with an reply, with solved problem or not ... whatever will be
    See you soon.
    Last edited by mesajflaviu; May 13th, 2014 at 01:20 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43

    Re: VTK in MFC VC6

    After secular fights, that take few days ), I succeded to integrate VTK library in two MFC projects, one of them is console, other one is MDI ... they are compiled with no errors, but when I try to run the programs, I get folowing error:

    Code:
    The program can't start because vtkRenderingCore-1.6.dll is missing from your computer
    Ok, I am using vtkRenderingCore-1.6.lib file (and header file) inside the project, so teoretically I don't need vtkRenderingCore-1.6.dll file ... still, the program want to take dll file ... strange .... I have to digg in ...

    If an project use a lib file (and header file, of course), why do I need dll file though ?
    Last edited by mesajflaviu; May 13th, 2014 at 02:15 AM.

  5. #5
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is online now Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wallisellen (ZH), Switzerland
    Posts
    17,422

    Re: VTK in MFC VC6

    Quote Originally Posted by mesajflaviu View Post
    ...
    Ok, I am using vtkRenderingCore-1.6.lib file (and header file) inside the project, so teoretically I don't need vtkRenderingCore-1.6.dll file ... still, the program want to take dll file ... strange .... I have to digg in ...
    You do need vtkRenderingCore-1.6.dll file because all the functions of VTK library were implemented in dll. And vtkRenderingCore-1.6.lib just informs linker that it should make the binding with corresponding dll while run-time.
    Victor Nijegorodov

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43

    Re: VTK in MFC VC6

    Even when result of compiled (VTK) library is configured as "Static library" ?

  7. #7
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is online now Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wallisellen (ZH), Switzerland
    Posts
    17,422

    Re: VTK in MFC VC6

    Quote Originally Posted by mesajflaviu View Post
    Even when result of compiled (VTK) library is configured as "Static library" ?
    But is the vtkRenderingCore-1.6.lib a really static? Your linker seems to not recognize it as a "static".
    Victor Nijegorodov

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43

    Re: VTK in MFC VC6

    You had right as soon as I recompiled the requested library as static, everything was all right ! You know, people like you keep the forums alive ! Kindly thank you !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center