CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

Unhappy How to Learn the Parts of Programming that Aren't Programming.

Yes, I am aware that the title of this thread could use some work, but truth be told, the question I have is fairly broad and difficult to narrow down. In fact, it is likely better expressed as a series of questions. The reason I post it here is because the language I am currently using is C#, and I'm sure it's at least possible that the solution could very well be specific to it and/or .NET in general.

Anyway, I have been working in PHP for the past year, and recently I started learning C#. I have learned a lot and am ready to start a project to continue my learning, but I find that I don't know some basic things that have nothing to do with coding that maybe someone here can help steer me in the right direction.

Working with web applications, I understand for the most part what all file types I need to complete a given project. An example would include .css files for formatting, php files for form processing and dynamic html, js files for javascrpt, and a hook into a data source for those sorts of things. All syntax aside, I have no idea what kind of components are used for what when it comes to this sort of development.

Now I have seen examples of reading information from a text file, and I know that these applications can hook into databases, but how are these sorts of needs measured and planned for?
    - Is having something like a json file the way to go for specific needs and not others, or is it completely up to me?
    - Does using a database cause unnecessary performance increases that are solved by reading from a file?
    - What if that file needs to be kept safe from the user?