CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Question Create an MFC OCX using C++ DLL

Hello Guru's

Im am a newbie here trying to create a OCX from a C++ dll., Here's the scenario
    I have a C++ dll and this dll needs to be called in VB.net program my boss want's me to create an OCX out of this
    C++ dll and use it in a VB.net class library, apparently I have created an OCX but it requires a form but the VB.net program is a class library.

Any one there can help me here.,

Regards,
    Newbie here

Re: Create an MFC OCX using C++ DLL

OCX you mention here is just an alias to ActiveX term, which in its turn is an alias to COM in-proc server. So let's talk a bit about COM in-proc servers.

COM is Windows way to bring OOP to languages including ones not supporting OOP natively, and provide cross-language use of components doing that some standard way. In COM world server exposes a number of coclasses, each of ones exposes a number of interfaces where each one exposes a number of methods and properties. Internally those may be implemented in any language that is able to build native Windows DLLs.

From C++ perspective COM DLL is a regular C/C++ DLL that follows COM programming guidelines. Internally it makes use of C++ classes and exposes their member functions and data via COM methods and properties respectively, but transposing internally used C++ data types to COM data types. Additionally it takes care of internal C++ object life cycles to comply with COM object life cycles.

There is one more point here you are to take into consideration. COM DLL may implement dual DLL interface, including both COM specific and usual C++ exports, or may implement only COM and link to external C++ DLL making use of the latter. Remember that COM DLL is just a regular DLL with some standard exports, so it is allowed do all the things that any regular DLL does.