A Game Debug.txt Info Required
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3

    A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    Hiya's,

    First off i'm not a coder, i have modded several games and still do

    If i explain somewhat things may appear clearer as to why i'm posting

    I found a browser game (thehunter) last july 2014 and fell in love with it, it's labelled as a f2p but in reality it's a micro-transaction game, and thus far i've put around 1k US dollars into it

    Now to my being here, for several months others and myself get a certain error, the game throws up error 16005 the game has crashed

    Up until the latest reserve (the game is a hunting game) ran perfect, so stable in fact i could play a game through steam sametime as playing thehunter through it's standalone version

    Others and myself can repeat the 16005 crashing, also, we can avoid it, the only thing is avoiding the 16005 error means hardly any moving in the game thus you don't get the error, this obviously makes no sense when you want to wander around hunting animals

    We share the problem across xp - w10, but, they are phasing xp/vista support out which i totally understand for security reasons

    So, my hope is, if i post a snip of our debug.txt someone could enlighten me as to what could be causing the error, i will add, the devs assumed it was xp/vista at fault, well from day one i knew the error effected xp-w10 as i host games and had many regulars using all the spectrum of M$ OS's, others and myself even tried different OS's, myself i tried vista x64 ultimate/w7 ultimate x64/now using w10 pro x64

    Here's a snip below, i best add, i have had several games in the past that were c++ pains, as-in needing certain versions etc or crashes could occur

    I went down the cpp route to try and fix errors as it showed in the debug, but as i say i mod at most and do not code, i'm not even sure if i'm in the ballpark think along the lines of cpp problems, so here i am asking the gurus for some input

    The debug.txt, i know already this will mean hardly anything to even gurus, but it means even less to myself as i've spent so many hours trying to find information regarding this lol

    [1204/182554:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.
    [1204/182554:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.
    [1204/182555:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.
    [1204/182555:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.
    [1204/182556:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.
    [1204/182556:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.
    [1204/182556:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.
    [1204/182652:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.
    [1204/182652:INFO:SkCanvas.cpp(863)] Unable to create device for layer.

    My lay person thinking was this, the .cpp stood for c.plus.plus and for some reason there was an error due to a rendering problem or a memory buffer problem, if i try to condense my test findings it may help

    Ingame time is 1hr ingame time to 30mins realtime

    Game can start 5am and finish 7pm, so a full session gaming can take me 7hrs realtime

    To finish a game with no error, start 5am, stay ingame but maybe only play a max of 1hr realtime, then go afk for 6hrs realtime, game comes to a natural end

    To cause a crash, start 5am and try to play as normal, walking/shooting/harvesting kills etc, it's a random crash as such but generally i can manage 3hrs to 4.5hrs realtime without crashing but from then on it can happen anytime

    Any, and i mean any info or ideas would be amazing, i know the game's not for everyone and yep it's getting dated by todays standards, but i would love to have my main game back

    Many Thanks

    Sorry for the long winded post

    Tony

    ps: hope it was ok to post in this forum

  2. #2
    Arjay's Avatar
    Arjay is offline Moderator / MS MVP Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    12,580

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    If you have the source code to the game, you can track down the error. The error seems clear enough and tells you the file it occurs in. A developer would need to run the game through a debugger and step through the code. Probably some resource isn't getting freed up so after a while the game can't create the new device for the layer (whatever that means).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    Hiya Arjay,

    thehunter is what i guess is called a browser style game

    I have 1k dollars so far invested in the game, i did think about trying to run some kind of degguger on a freshly made new account, but then thought better of doing so, as with the anti-cheat or whatever they have coded ingame i don't won't to lose 16mths of chucking money into the game

    For 70 days now others and myself have been hoping for a patch to fix this error, you know what we got !!! 2 reskins (ok i could of done the same in very little time and a visual artist did it not a game dev coder) of 2 weapons already in the game + a new crossbow and shortly to be released a .45 long pistol, taking the pee i think releasing stuff on top of a crashing game, but hey ho this seems to be todays gaming companies for you lol

    The one saving grace so to speak is now more and more players are crashing, i think until the majority of us complain this company is just releasing items knowing that ones will buy just to keep their scores high

    I am really at a loss as to them not even responding to questions, other bugs are in the game, but the crashing is obviously the worst

    I feel so annoyed as this game is my main game, lol don't laugh, besides this i generally just play silent hunter series of sims, my last dvd game was bf3 hehe

    Well Thankyou for your response Arjay

    I can just hope along with other players 2016 brings not new items to waste dollars on but a game back to being stable and enjoyable

    Thanks Again

    Def

  4. #4

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    A developer would need to run the game through a debugger and step through the code. Probably some resource isn't getting freed up so after a while the game can't create the new device for the layer (whatever that means).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    Hiya,

    To be blunt, i don't think the coders know their A$$ from their elbow

    This has been ongoing since last year, only recently yet again devs have left and new blood taken on

    And now more people have this crashing error, they did yet another open-beta to collect crash data ........... but in reality................ was another open-beta to test a new animal they introduced lmao

    Since i can't see them fixing the game, i've moved back to simulations, chucking shed loads at x-plane 10 now instead of thehunter, and not once have i had any problems and i am again enjoying gaming

    I hear what you're saying about a debugger, i guess they have no idea howto create or use one i guess

    One thing, since at least October 2015 until now, surely any dev worth their salt would of at least had some patches for players to try upto this date ? !!!! (you might guess this hasn't been the case lol)

    Well, maybe 2017 after they keep losing big spenders they will put more resources into a fix

    Cheers for reply

    Have Fun

    Def

  6. #6
    Arjay's Avatar
    Arjay is offline Moderator / MS MVP Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    12,580

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    For memory management in C++, following this rule will get you a long way:
    When you allocate memory, always be sure to free it.

    If a developer gets into the habit of doing that immediately in code, then they probably won't get into the position where there is a lot of code that is leaking badly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    pune
    Posts
    7

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    Its good article and all thhe information is so good.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    mumbai
    Posts
    11

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    Thanks for sharing

  9. #9

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    I am really at a loss as to them not even responding to questions, other bugs are in the game, but the crashing is obviously the worst

  10. #10
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is online now Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wallisellen (ZH), Switzerland
    Posts
    18,998

    Re: A Game Debug.txt Info Required

    I am really at a loss as to them not even responding to questions, other bugs are in the C, but the crashing is obviously the worst
    What "questions"?
    What "bugs"?
    In what "game"?
    How is (and what) is crashing?
    Victor Nijegorodov

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This a Codeguru.com survey!


On-Demand Webinars (sponsored)