CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Learning MySQL by C++

Hello to all,

I'm sorry if this is not a good forum for asking this question.

I have some knowledge on C++ and know that being familiar with MySQL will be a must soon. Now how to learn MySQL please?
    I heard that I can learn MySQL from C++ or PHP. So if I'm given an option to choose, I'll choose learning it from C++ because I know nothing about PHP.
    Now what is your advice please?
    If I want to learn MySQL from C++, what works I need to do please?
    Should I read some book for it?

Thanks.

GCDEF is offline Elite Member Power Poster

Re: Learning MySQL by C++

Not sure what you mean by learn SQL by C++. C++ is a programming language. SQL is a database language. They don't have much to do with each other. Since you asked in a Visual C++ forum, one way to access a SQL database is through ODBC, in particular the CDatabase and CRecordset classes. You'll need to know something about relational databases to use them, but SQL is really its own thing.

Thank you for your reply.

So I want to learn MySQL as a new language and use it some day for another language, e.g., C++ or PHP or some other language.
    So I think the first step is to start learning MySQL. Since I have some programming skills (in C++) can I straightly go and start to read a book on MySQL? If so, would you introduce me a good book on MySQL to start with?

Quote Originally Posted by tomy12
    So I think the first step is to start learning MySQL. Since I have some programming skills (in C++) can I straightly go and start to read a book on MySQL?
    You don't even need to know a programming language like C++ to learn database design, SQL, and MySQL in particular. For example, you could use graphical tools for inspecting a MySQL database and running SQL statements on that database, or you could even use the MySQL command shell.
    C + C++ Compiler: MinGW port of GCC