CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

[RESOLVED] Best way to find the largest integer value (include duplicate) in an array

Hi C++ Experts,

I am a novice C++ programmer and have a need to find the largest integer value and index in an array pass into a function. Below is the code that I have come up with but not sure whether there is better way to do this:

Code:
    #include <algorithm>
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

void print_largest_number(int[], int);

int main() {
    	int arrayNum[] = { 23, 5, -10, 0, 0, 321, 1, 2, 99, 30, 321, 100 };
    	size_t arraySize = sizeof(arrayNum) / sizeof(arrayNum[0]);
    	print_largest_number(arrayNum, arraySize);
    }

void print_largest_number(int array[], int size)
    {
    	sort(array, array + size);
    	cout << "The largest value is " << array[size - 1] << endl;
    	cout << "The array index of largest value is " << size - 1 << endl;
    }
    However, it fails to check for multiple maximum values & only use the 1st one found. I can do additional comparison on the sorted array to get the correct result but question whether this is a good solution. There are many different ways to achieve the same objectives. In other word, by taking advantage of using built-in sort function, I lose control of locating the initial largest value and having to do additional comparison afterward instead.

Likewise, I will have to find the largest value & index from an array of characters.

Your advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance,
    George

Re: Best way to find the largest integer value (include duplicate) in an array

Hi, I guess this should help you to find needed value and its position.
    Code:
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

int print_largest_number(int array[], int size)
    {
        if(size <=0 ) return -1;
    	int max = array[0], idx = 0;
    	for(int i = 1; i < size; ++i)
    	    if(max <= array[i]) max = array[i], idx = i;