CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Do C++ programmers need to know Linux perfectly as well?

Hello guys, I'm not sure whether I'm asking this question on a correct forum or not. If not, my apologise.

I'm an intermediate-level programmer of C++ and have recently started studying Qt, QML and OpenGL. Since they are mostly using C++, the task is not that bewildering.

About Linux and its flavor Ubuntu, I have little knowledge about it. It may take some time to be skilled on it and use the command line well.

What now? Well, I at times see employers list several items as requirements for employees that include terms like: working on Linux by C++ or using C++ on/for Linux.
    To be honest, I can't understand that completely, what they really mean, but whatever it is, it's something popular and required for getting good jobs regarding C++ programmers.
    Would you please guide me? What they mean and what is the relationship between C++ and Linux?

Re: Do C++ programmers need to know Linux perfectly as well?

No, Linux is an operating system, whether it refers to the kernel of the said operating system, or the surrounding distributions thereof. Hence, if you wish to find work in areas that involve Linux, then of course you need to know Linux, but if not, you may well program in C++ say, solely for Windows.
    C + C++ Compiler: MinGW port of GCC
    Build + Version Control System: SCons + Bazaar

Look up a C/C++ Reference and learn How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    Kindly rate my posts if you found them useful

Thanks. So it mainly depends upon the place where the programmer works in, as you said. So one other question, don't you think knowing Linux is a good privilege for a programmer in a general manner and a C++ programmer in a specific manner? Or, isn't using Linux popular in most places a (C++) programmer might work in?

2kaud is offline Super Moderator Power Poster