CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Best program/language for creating document templates with hundreds of variables?

All,

First time poster. Long time follower. I'm an attorney; and I need to create a program that solves the following scenario. First a little background. I frequently draft and negotiate heavy-duty, language intensive commercial contracts and/or commercial leases. Many of my clients are developers who own tens/hundreds of millions of dollars of real estate. Most of the time, they want a 100 page document turned around very, very quickly (24-48 hours). I'm sick and tired of doing it the old fashioned way: Pull a recent document, manually read the document and insert deal-specific terms. Among other things, not only is it tedious, but it's prone to human error. So here's what I'd like to do:

1) Create a standard template that already contains boilerplate clauses which are contained in every contract/lease.
    2) Depending on the deal, I'd like to click a drop-down box and insert Clause #1. Once I do this, the entire document morphs to match Clause #1 and only allows me to only access and input other, certain clauses via a dropdown box.
    3) Once the document morphs, I want to insert Clause #2, which further morphs the document and only allows be to access certain other clauses (based on my previous selection of Clause #1 and Clause #2) via a drop down box.
    4) So forth and so on.

I trust that makes sense. If it doesn't please let me know, I'd be happy to elaborate. About me: I have a basic understanding of Python, as I took a course through code academy. But, I don't know how to write a program; or how to make that come to life - so any advice on that would help too.

Jay

Arjay is offline Moderator / EX MS MVP Power Poster

Re: Best program/language for creating document templates with hundreds of variables?