dcsimg
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: unexpected behavior of integer variable

unexpected behavior of integer variable

Hello,

Why is the int variable i ignored at 0 and recognized as zero at 10? I just started learning C++ so if there's a cleaner more efficient way to convert integer values to string then please don't hesitate to tell me.

Ron

Code:
    #include <iostream>
    #include <string>

int i = 0;

std::string numstr;

int main()
    {
      for (i = 0; i < 9; i += 1)
      {
        if (i = 10) numstr.append("0");
        if (i = 1) numstr.append("1");
        if (i = 2) numstr.append("2");
        if (i = 3) numstr.append("3");
        if (i = 4) numstr.append("4");
        if (i = 5) numstr.append("5");
        if (i = 6) numstr.append("6");
        if (i = 7) numstr.append("7");
        if (i = 8) numstr.append("8");
        if (i = 9) numstr.append("9");
      }
      std::cout << numstr;
      std::cin.get();
      return 0;
    }

Re: unexpected behavior of integer variable

Quote Originally Posted by OldRon View Post
    That line is wrong in two ways. It should be,
    Code:
        if (i == 0) numstr.append("0");
    = is an assignment, == checks for equality.

There is a standard function to_string you can use,

https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/st...ring/to_string

Arjay is offline Moderator / EX MS MVP Power Poster

If you don't already have a book on modern C++, you may want to pick up one. It would go nicely with a modern free compiler.

2kaud is offline Super Moderator Power Poster

In C/C++, = is assignment and == is equality test. So:

Code:
    means first set i to 10. If the result is true (ie non-zero), which it is here as 10 is non-zero, then execute the following statement (the .append() ).