CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21
  1. #16
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hanover Germany
    Posts
    20,109

    Re: How do I get rid of "Ready" in Status Bar

    Quote Originally Posted by rudibr View Post
    ...
    So my implementation is a kind of delayed mechanism. Would WM_SETMESSAGESTRING also be able to handle this? Will the message stay in the queue untill the statusbar is created?
    Just test it!
    Victor Nijegorodov

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    Re: How do I get rid of "Ready" in Status Bar

    Quote Originally Posted by VictorN View Post
    Just test it!
    Ok. Iíll try that. Just thought that since You suggested it you might know something about it.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    Re: How do I get rid of "Ready" in Status Bar

    Quote Originally Posted by VictorN View Post
    Just test it!
    I tried this:

    Code:
    	
    	CHAR* msg = "This is a test";
    	AfxGetApp()->m_pMainWnd->SendMessage(WM_SETMESSAGESTRING, 0, (LPARAM)msg);
    This doesn't set the status text, if called before the status bar is created, but works fine afterwards.

    So I'll stick with my timer solution that actually works.

    Why did you suggest using WM_SETMESSAGESTRING? Just guessing?

  4. #19
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hanover Germany
    Posts
    20,109

    Re: How do I get rid of "Ready" in Status Bar

    Quote Originally Posted by rudibr View Post
    I tried this:

    Code:
    	
    	CHAR* msg = "This is a test";
    	AfxGetApp()->m_pMainWnd->SendMessage(WM_SETMESSAGESTRING, 0, (LPARAM)msg);
    This doesn't set the status text, if called before the status bar is created, but works fine afterwards.
    I never needed to set the status bar text before status bar has been created.

    Quote Originally Posted by rudibr View Post

    So I'll stick with my timer solution that actually works.
    Yes! If it is already developed/created and does work, then why not?

    Quote Originally Posted by rudibr View Post
    Why did you suggest using WM_SETMESSAGESTRING? Just guessing?
    Because it worked for me since decades without any problem!
    Victor Nijegorodov

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    Re: How do I get rid of "Ready" in Status Bar

    ;-)

    If it works, donít fix it!

    🤪

  6. #21
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hanover Germany
    Posts
    20,109

    Re: How do I get rid of "Ready" in Status Bar

    Quote Originally Posted by rudibr View Post
    ;-)

    If it works, donít fix it!

    🤪
    Victor Nijegorodov

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  





Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Featured