CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Assignment Methods

hi guys
    im a uni student and i got an assignment where i have to right code for a magic square where each row and column of a 3x3 square has to equal the same number in order to be a "magic" square.
    According to the assignment requirements i need to have one class constructor and instance variable along with 11 methods. (if your interested i can send you the document)
    I have had no previous experience with java, we have been going to about 5 weeks and i know the basics.
    What i dont understand is why so many methods are created when you could do all this in the main method. Also because the markers want the methods seperated, i dont know how to start and what to put in these methods.
    I know if i used logic i could get this program working, but not with the required loop statements and boolean types that are needed.
    thanx

This is what the main aprt of the assignment asks for

The java class MagicSquare you create must have:
    One instance variable…
    • A two dimensional array of integers that will hold the numbers for this magic
    square attempt.
    One class constructor…
    • The constructor accepts a single parameter which is an integer that represents
    the size dimension of the square.
    • The constructor must use this parameter to initialize the array of integers.
    Eleven class methods…
    1. getCell
    This method accepts two parameters and has a return value.
    The first parameter (an integer) specifies which row the target cell is on.
    The second parameter (integer) specifies which column the target cell is in.
    The return value is the integer stored in the specified cell.
    2. getMaxCellValue
    This method accepts no parameters and returns a single integer value that is
    the highest valid number that a cell can have. This value is equal to the
    number of cells in the square.