CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Lightbulb DataGridview form inheritance property visibility (csharp)

Hello Sir

Im new to c Sharp but Iam already a programmer of a few lanaguage for win32 and web.

Now Iam trying to create a application framework in csharp.net (using vs2005) win32 and i run into some problem on inheriting the grid property from a base form object. The situation is.

1. I created a base form with DataGridview, dataset, bindingnavigator, and bindingsource. making thier modifiers as protected which makes their property visible to the inheritance form. the functions that will make up for this form like search open, edit and etc is can be place here.

2. I created a inheritance form from this base form, with this I can just put a dataadapter I just created and set it to my bindingnavigator control, ok it works.

3. THE PROBLEM. I cannot set the property column collection in the design to set the datagridview in the inhereted form. as you know if I have to use this base form it is only natural for it to have a different columns, width, etc.

-> I need to make atleast the column collection to be accesible in design time to change it on every new inhireted form.

-> or I need to make some control object column collection that will be place in the inhireted form that points in the current dataadapter, which i can modify the property in design time, and set it to point in the datagrid column property in my Inhereted form InitializeComponent().

I hope you give give me a tip or two.

Thanks in advance.

Re: DataGridview form inheritance property visibility (csharp)

can you explain what is column collections here ? Is it specific to the datagrid columns or some other component you have created seperately and trying to add it to the datagrid inherited from the base forrm,.

Smile Re: DataGridview form inheritance property visibility (csharp)

Thanks for the reply,
    I will explain this more in details