CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Function Call Fail

I'm new to C# and I'm having an issue trying to call a function from within a timer. I'll include my code below. The only time I get this error is when I try to call the MovePlayer function within the timer, the second I comment that out it runs where am I going wrong and why?

public void MovePlayer(object sender, KeyEventArgs e)
    {
    if (e.KeyCode == Keys.W)
    {
    imgPlayer.Top = imgPlayer.Top + 10;
    }
    }

private void tmrPlayer_Tick(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
    MovePlayer();
    }
    }

Re: Function Call Fail

You are not passing any arguments to the MovePlayer function.

Quote Originally Posted by jeet_xp View Post
    You are not passing any arguments to the MovePlayer function.
    What arguments does it need, to me that should run with out needing anything. I would have thought that at each interval the timer would call the function MovePlayer, then because the function is called it would check for the keypress and then move imgPlayer

But you didn't pass it any parameter... so how would it be able to check anything? That's kind of like taking meat out of the fridge, putting it on the counter, and expecting the skillet to cook it simply because you passed the meat to the counter event handler, even though you didn't pass it to the skillet handler.

That being said... the tick event doesn't have KeyCode as part of its data... so even if you were to pass the data, it's an incompatible type (EventArgs vs KeyEventArgs) and wouldn't contain the necessary data.

Just what is it exactly you're trying to accomplish? What's the point of the Timer if all it's going to do is call the event handler of another object?

-tg
    * I don't respond to private requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.-I also subscribe to all threads I participate, so there's no need to pm when there's an update.*