CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

C++ substituting variables for values

Hello everybody. I am a beginner at C++ and have a lab assignment due that i am a little lost on. The lab states that i must create a table using iomanipulators, setw, setprecision, and setiosflags that shows current i, Vr, Vcap, and Vr+Vcap with respect to time. The given formulas are i=E*(pow(e,(-t/(R*C)))/R), Vr=i*R, and Vcap = E*(1-pow(e,(-t/(R*C)))). I have already programmed these and have defined all variables, include t1-t5 (.01s,.05s,.1s,1s,5s) as floats. Values for e, E, R, and C are given. My problem is that i am unsure how to plug different values of t into the equations to get an appropriate output for each section of the table. I know i must cin the time values, but i'm lost as to what to do after that. Could somebody please help?

Re: C++ substituting variables for values

not quite sure I understand where you are stuck. Do you have a method/function that takes time as an argument?

Yes i have to make a table that shows 5 different times and then plug those times into the equations for i and Vr and Vcap. I don't know how to plug the values in, besides rewriting the equation with the given times in each of the designated spots on the table

Quote Originally Posted by munkalla View Post
    I don't know how to plug the values in,
    I have already programmed these and have defined all variables, include t1-t5 (.01s,.05s,.1s,1s,5s) as floats.
    Instead of just describing, let's see the function you wrote that computes these values.

And please use code tags when posting code, so that the code becomes formatted when forum members are viewing it.

Regards,

Paul McKenzie

That's the problem i have no idea how to create a function that will compute the values... as i said i am a beginner at this. I have the equation and i have the times... the problem is inputting the times into the equations to get the current and voltage drop output