CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

[RESOLVED] Simple Handle question

When using GetStdHandle() function I can understand you need to make sure that you have a valid Handle to be able to write (output) and read (input) to the console. What I don't understand, is whether obtaining those handles would ever fail? MSDN tells me that I could get INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE or NULL. I have never received those values? Clearly if either write or read handles did produce an error my program should exit?

This brings me to the STD_ERROR_HANDLE. Is it really necessary to use this handle or even quit a program if this returned an error? This handle is not as important as the two I mentioned earlier?

I am new to this and just need a better understanding of these handles.
    What the mind can conceive it can achieve.

VictorN is offline Super Moderator Power Poster

Re: Simple Handle question

Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Bates View Post
    When using GetStdHandle() function I can understand you need to make sure that you have a valid Handle to be able to write (output) and read (input) to the console. What I don't understand, is whether obtaining those handles would ever fail? MSDN tells me that I could get INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE or NULL. I have never received those values? Clearly if either write or read handles did produce an error my program should exit?
    If your program is about to use a handle that could not be obtained by GetStdHandle (the return value was INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE or NULL) then yes, the program should exit or, at least not use such a handle. Otherwise it will crash.

This brings me to the STD_ERROR_HANDLE. Is it really necessary to use this handle or even quit a program if this returned an error?
    If you are not going to write the the standard error device then you don't need to obtain the handle for it.
    Victor Nijegorodov