CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

dynamic array resizing

I have to write a program where the user will input integer numbers. How many numbers they enter is unknown, therefor you should use a repetition structure for the input. When the user is done, they will enter -1 to exit.

Create a dynamic array if the size=2( the initial size must be 2)
    Repeat until user enters -1.

I have to do this without using vectors.

This is what i have, I cannot figure out what to put in main. I was thinking of a do-while?

This is my first time in c++
    Any hints?

Code:
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;
    void resize(int *[], int);
    int main()
    {
    	int *listDyn;
    	int size=2;
    	listDyn=new int[size];

for (int i=0; i<size; i++)
    		{
    			cout << "Enter as many integers as you'd like or enter -1 to exit" ;
    			cin >> listDyn[i]; 
    		}

void resize(int *listDyn, int size)
    {
    	int *listDynNew=new int[size*2];
    	for (int i=0; i<size; i++)
    		listDynNew[i]=listDyn[i];
    	size++;
    	listDyn=listDynNew;
    	delete[] listDynNew;
    }

2kaud is online now Super Moderator Power Poster

Re: dynamic array resizing

Your for loop will only allow 2 numbers to be entered!

Your resize function also has issues. Why are using size * 2? As listDyn and size are passed by value, any new value assigned to them during the function isn't passed back to the calling code.

I have to do this without using vectors.
    Shame! Boo!

I was thinking of a do-while?
    Your loop in main() needs to loop until either a -1 is entered or an error occurs on the input stream.