CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: Program help

Program help

Hello! I am very new to programming and I can not figure out how to do this code. It has been a struggle the past weekend trying to figure it out. The program is:

"A loop that keeps reading words until it runs out of input, and prints the words that are alphabetically first and last. You can assume that the words are actual words and all in lowercase."
    This is what I have so far:

int main ()
    {
    string current;
    cout << "Enter a word" << ".\n"

while(cin>>current)

{
    }
    }

I am completely stuck, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

VictorN is offline Super Moderator Power Poster

Re: Program help

Did you try to take a piece of paper with a pen/pencil and write on how you would do it...?
    Victor Nijegorodov

Quote Originally Posted by VictorN View Post
    Did you try to take a piece of paper with a pen/pencil and write on how you would do it...?
    Yes, but I just don't know how to execute it in the program. I'm just unsure how I would write it in C++ language in order for the program to run the way I want it to.

VictorN is offline Super Moderator Power Poster

Well, let's do it step-by-step!
    What is your two (or three) first paper-steps to solve the problem?
    Victor Nijegorodov

2kaud is offline Super Moderator Power Poster

It is helpful when posting code to use code tags so that the code is formatted for readability. Go Advanced, select the code and click '#'.

As you need to determine the first and last word, you're going to need two string variables - one to hold the current first and one to hold the current last. So for each word read, you'll need to determine if this one is the new current first or is the new current last.

Once the loop has terminated (what is the terminating condition?) then the current first and current last variables will hold the values required.