CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Servlet handling its own outputted HTML form

I am still new to Java and I find that by far the aspect taking longest to understand is servlets.

I am busy writing a servlet that must initially show an HTML form (if a FORM is actually needed here), in which
    the user enters a monetary amount into a text field.

There are 3 buttons underneath the textfield: Balance, Deposit and Withdraw.

Deposit: adds the amount in the textfield to the total "bank account" of the user.
    Withdraw: subtracts the amount in the textfield from the total "bank account" of the user.
    Balance: displays the current remaining total of the "bank account" just under the textfield.

What is unusual is that in this task, they require me to only use a servlet to address all these things.

So the servlet HTMLBank.java must do the following:

- Display form with textfield for entering an amount, a line for showing the current remaining total of the bank
    account, and the abovementioned buttons doing the said actions.

- Add entered amount to the account total, via appropriate button's input.

- Subtract entered amount from the total, via appropriate button's input.

- Show to the screen the current remaining total of bank account, via appropriate button's input.

So, where it's common to use a separate HTML document as the form page, and have its submission redirect the
    browser to the separate servlet file for data processing, here I have to make the servlet write that form, as well
    as take its input and then show the described output - all on the same Web page.

And this is where I am confused as to how to achieve this. Firstly, these buttons I coded and assigned methods to,
    do not work. I click them but nothing happens. Help on the buttons would be also appreciated.

The following is the updated code of my HTMLBank.java servlet (this is nothing confidential as it's not actually linked