CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lightbulb How To: Prevent duplicate coding

I am rather new in programming and wonder how to compact the code I wrote for using a flexible number of CJMCU-8110 connected to my NodeMCU. In the attached test code below I have 2 connected, but in the near future I want to expand to 3 or 4 and would like to drive that by a variable (f.i. int SensorNumber = 2) instead of duplicating the code for each sensor like I did in the example.

Who can guide me to a solution?

Code:
    #include <Arduino.h>
    #include <Wire.h>    // I2C library
    #include "ccs811.h"  // CCS811 library
    #include "ClosedCube_HDC1080.h"

CCS811 ccs811_1;
    CCS811 ccs811_2;

ClosedCube_HDC1080 HDC1080_1;
    ClosedCube_HDC1080 HDC1080_2;

int SDApin;
    int SCLpin = D1;

HDC1080_SerialNumber sernum;
    char format[12];
    bool vBootphase = true;
    uint16_t eco2, etvoc, errstat, raw;

void setup() {Serial.begin(115200); while(!Serial){;}}

void loop() 
    {
      if (vBootphase == true)
      {
        // Channel 1: Setup
        SDApin = D2;
        Wire.begin(SDApin, SCLpin);
        delay(500);
        // ** CCS811 **
        Serial.println("");
        Serial.println("*** CCS1 ***");
        Serial.print("CCS :");
        ccs811_1.set_i2cdelay(50);
        ccs811_1.begin();
        delay(500);
        ccs811_1.start(CCS811_MODE_1SEC);
        delay(1000);
        Serial.print("setup: hardware    version: "); Serial.println(ccs811_1.hardware_version(),HEX);
        Serial.print("setup: bootloader  version: "); Serial.println(ccs811_1.bootloader_version(),HEX);
        Serial.print("setup: application version: "); Serial.println(ccs811_1.application_version(),HEX);
        // HDC1080
        HDC1080_1.begin(0x40);
        Serial.print("Manufacturer ID=0x");
        Serial.println(HDC1080_1.readManufacturerId(), HEX); // 0x5449 ID of Texas Instruments