CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: Rust

Rust

I was a C programmer who jumped on the Java bandwagon. Unfortunately Java never lived up to its hype for my kind of applications (which is scientific programs for the desktop). So it was a great relief when C++ 11 came along. It indicated a willingness to modernize C++. I immediately switched to it and never looked back. I'm very satisfied with C++ and looking forward to C++ 20 and beyond.

My bad experience with Java has made me very suspicious of new languages. In my view Go, Python, D, Swift, Julia, Scala and the likes don't add enough value to be alternatives to C++. They're not even close.

This month (June 2020) a new language made the TIOBE top 20 list,

https://www.tiobe.com/tiobe-index/

It's called Rust. It has been along for a while but, maybe due to its repulsive name, I've never bothered to check it out. Now I did and I must say I'm impressed. If you're a C++ programmer what do you think, is Rust a true alternative to C++ (if not right off, maybe in some cases under some circumstances)?
    Last edited by wolle; June 16th, 2020 at 01:40 AM.

2kaud is online now Super Moderator Power Poster

Re: Rust

For over the past 25 years I've only used c/c++ - so I'm a little Rusty on the languages I used before then so can't comment.