CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,355

    Knowing HDC, can i get the actual DIB, or i must create it?

    using the GetCurrentObject() with HDC, i can get the actual HBitmap handle....but i need ask more 2 things:
    1 - how can i get the
    BITMAPINFOHEADER from HBitmap?
    2 - do i need create the DIB or the control(form) have it's own? if have it, how can i get it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,355

    Re: Knowing HDC, can i get the actual DIB, or i must create it?

    so far i did these code:
    Code:
    Friend Sub DrawImageRectanglePoints(DestinationHDC As Long, Points() As Position3D, WorldSize As Size3D)    'Points(0) is the Upper-Left
        'Points(1) is the Upper-Right
        'Points(2) is the Low-Right
        'Points(3) is the Low-Left
        Dim x As Long
        Dim y As Long
        Dim PosX As Long
        Dim PosY As Long
        Dim DestinationBitmap As Long
        Dim lpBitsDestination As Long
        Dim bi As BITMAPINFO
        Dim bm As BITMAP
        Dim bufSize As Long
        Dim ghnd As Long
        Dim gptr As Long
        If (hBitmap = 0 Or hMemDC = 0) Then Exit Sub
        'Get actual hBitmap from Destination HDC:
        DestinationBitmap = GetCurrentObject(DestinationHDC, OBJ_BITMAP)
        GetObject DestinationBitmap, Len(bm), bm
        
        'Prepare the structure for get the DIB's:
        bi.bmiHeader.biSize = Len(bi.bmiHeader)
        bi.bmiHeader.biWidth = bm.bmWidth
        bi.bmiHeader.biHeight = bm.bmHeight
        bi.bmiHeader.biPlanes = 1
        ' Set to 24 here to create a 24 bit DIB
        ' Set to 8 here to create an 8 bit DIB
        bi.bmiHeader.biBitCount = 4
        bi.bmiHeader.biCompression = BI_RGB
        ' Now calculate the data buffer size needed
        bufSize = bi.bmiHeader.biWidth
    
    
        ' Figure out the number of bytes based on the
        ' number of pixels in each byte. In this case we
        ' really don't need all this code because this example
        ' always uses a 16 color DIB, but the code is shown
        ' here for your future reference
        Select Case bi.bmiHeader.biBitCount
            Case 1
                bufSize = (bufSize + 7) / 8
            Case 4
                bufSize = (bufSize + 1) / 2
            Case 24
                bufSize = bufSize * 3
        End Select
        ' And make sure it aligns on a long boundary
        bufSize = ((bufSize + 3) / 4) * 4
        ' And multiply by the # of scan lines
        bufSize = bufSize * bi.bmiHeader.biHeight
        
        ' Now allocate a buffer to hold the data
        ' We use the global memory pool because this buffer
        ' could easily be above 64k bytes.
        
        ghnd = GlobalAlloc(GMEM_MOVEABLE, bufSize)
        gptr = GlobalLock(ghnd)
        
        'get DIB's from HBitmap, on Destination HDC:
        Dim s As Long
        s = GetDIBits(DestinationHDC, DestinationBitmap, 0, bm.bmHeight, gptr, bi, DIB_RGB_COLORS)
        If (s = 0) Then
            MsgBox "error"
            Exit Sub
        End If
        
        Dim pixels3() As COLORQUAD
        Dim uarray2d3 As SAFEARRAY
        GetPixelArray pixels3, uarray2d3, gptr, bm.bmWidth, bm.bmHeight
    maybe the 'gptr' is wrong and i don't know it... what i'm doing wrong?
    yes i get zero... the GetDIBits() is falling

  3. #3
    Arjay's Avatar
    Arjay is offline Moderator / EX MS MVP Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    13,490

    Re: Knowing HDC, can i get the actual DIB, or i must create it?

    What does GetLastError() tell you?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,355

    Re: Knowing HDC, can i get the actual DIB, or i must create it?

    both zero
    Code:
    Dim s As Long    s = GetDIBits(DestinationHDC, DestinationBitmap, 0, bm.bmHeight, gptr, bi, DIB_RGB_COLORS)
        If (s = 0) Then
            MsgBox "error " + vbTab + CStr(GetLastError())
            Exit Sub
        End If
    i belive the problem is with:
    Code:
    Public Const GMEM_MOVEABLE = &H2
    
    
    Public Declare Function GlobalAlloc Lib "kernel32" (ByVal wFlags As Long, ByVal dwBytes As Long) As Long
    Public Declare Function GlobalLock Lib "kernel32" (ByVal hMem As Long) As Long
    ...............
    
    ghnd = GlobalAlloc(GMEM_MOVEABLE, bufSize)
        gptr = GlobalLock(ghnd)
    but i can be wrong.
    Note: i know these is C\C++ subforum and not VB... was my mistake speed
    sometimes happens... if you can change the subforum, please do it... i'm sorry

  5. #5
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is online now Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hanover Germany
    Posts
    20,396

    Re: Knowing HDC, can i get the actual DIB, or i must create it?

    [Moved from C++ and WinAPI forum]
    Last edited by VictorN; December 21st, 2020 at 05:06 PM.
    Victor Nijegorodov

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,355

    Re: Knowing HDC, can i get the actual DIB, or i must create it?

    thank you VictorN

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  





Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Featured